McCain’s Warning: Perils Of One-Party Rule

27 10 2008

It is unreasonable to say that electing a Democrat president and having a Democrat majority in Congress equals
“one party rule”.

First of all, the supreme court, the third branch of government, is conservative-Republican heavy.

Second, we were living under the same “one party rule” when Bush was president with a majority in Congress for 6 years. True – it wasn’t a veto proof majority. We had that when Clinton was president, although he was a Democrat with a veto-proof Republican majority in Congress. Count the ways that went wrong.

That brings me to the third point – members of Congress and Senators are elected directly by citizens. If there is a majority in the legislative branch of government, it’s because a majority of people wanted them there. I wish a majority of citizens hadn’t wanted Republicans to have a majority in Congress for six years of Bush’s term – but they did and I lived with that. The bottom line is that my neighbors wanted it, I was outnumbered, and so I had to live with our collective decision. Now my neighbors might want a Democrat majority in Congress – and I support that. I also support a Democrat for president. It is not a package deal – they are individual decisions being made by millions of people. If a Democrat majority in Congress and Democrat President is what the majority of citizens want, then by golly that is what they should get – for better or worse.

This is the democratic system, like it or lump it.

More on John McCain
Read the Article at HuffingtonPost

Actions

Information

4 responses

10 05 2013
asx share prices history

Good day! I simply wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the great information you
have got right here on this post. I will probably be coming
back to your blog for more soon.

2 08 2013
Anonymous

I love to disseminate understanding that will I’ve accrued through the year to assist enhance team functionality.

2 08 2013
Anonymous

Hiya! I just want to give a huge thumbs up for the nice information you may have here on this post.
I will likely be coming again to your weblog for extra soon.

4 08 2013

Leave a Reply

