Palin and God’s Will

12 09 2008

“I think God’s will has to be done in unifying people and companies to get that gasline built. So pray for that,” Palin said at the time.

What the F**K? Are you serious Govenor Palin? It is God’s will that a specific piece of equipment be built that just so happens to be in line with your gubernatorial agenda? Well that’s convenient. Hey, did God happen to tell you which way the almighty was leaning on Blue-ray vs. HD DVD? I really wanna know which way to pray. Let me know when you get the chance, k? Oh, I wish George Carlin had lived long enough to see this.

Here’s the thing – I like Jesus, but keep God out of our energy policy. Unless the plan is to melt down every gold crucifix in the U.S. and make a giant windmill out of them that will save our country from dependancy on unstable governments and contributing to the global human-environmental crisis, God has no place in the conversation. Ok, with the exception of “God, please let global warming not get any worse until we have time to do more. Thanks.”

I am not the biggest fan of Palin, but I am trying to be level-headed here, just like I tried to be level-headed when I heard George W. Bush talk about God-this and God-that during his campaign.

I tried to be level headed when I heard George W. Bush say, “I feel like God wants me to run for President. I can’t explain it, but I sense my country is going to need me. Something is going to happen… I know it won’t be easy on me or my family, but God wants me to do it.” during his campaign.

I tried to be level-headed when I heard George W. Bush say, “I do know I’m ready for the job. And, if not, that’s just the way it goes.” on Aug. 21, 2000.

I tried to be level-headed when he said, “I call upon all nations to do everything they can to stop these terrorist killers. Thank you. Now watch this drive.” on August 4, 2002, on violence in the Middle East… and his golf game. (You know you remember that one.)

Level-headed. Level-headed. To quote The Princess Bride, “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

So, I must be doing this whole “level-headed” thing wrong, because those were not slips of the tongue. They were big flashing red lights warning me, and you, that there was something very wrong and to evacuate immediately. Regardless of whether or not I agree with her policies and views, I want them to be hers, not God’s. We’re not talking about whether or not to create a breed of squirrel that has chipmunk coloring. We’re talking about strategic decsions that impact our economy, our national security, our natural habitat, our energy resources, and the continued existance and prosperity of this country we fight so hard to protect.

It’s God’s will is to get that gasline built? Which way to that emergency exit

Actions

Information

One response

17 09 2008
thecapedcrusader

Any time you can quote “The Princess Bride” and point out the flaws of our elected officials, magic is created.

Hats off to you and your posts. If you keep writing, I’ll keep reading…

Leave a Reply

